RSS

The Season is Just Getting Started

23 Sep

Nearly a year ago I wrote about inspiration and motivation.  I talked briefly about my health.  Since that time I have lost nearly 30 lbs this year.  I am so proud.  I was motivated by being more desirable to other people, but I feel as though I am motivated to make good choices for myself.  For my own health.  I’ve tuned to shows such as “The Doctors” and “Dr. Oz” who I really admire.  He posed the “Just 10 lb. Challenge.”  He says, “losing just 10 pounds can lower your blood pressure, reduce your risk for a stroke, ward off dementia, lower your risk for uterine and breast cancer, and lower your cholesterol up to 10%” This is great news!! Look at all the wonderful I accomplished in losing more than just 10!!  

Image

I am so happy to say that a friend of mine is also losing weight!!!  Per my advice she is using the HCG Drops which work like a charm.  The key is cutting sugar out of your diet including bread, pasta, starches etc.  Which as most of us know is no easy task.  Some of us have a sweet tooth while others are carb-o-holics.

Image

Despite having lost a significant amount of weight this year, I am recently finding it hard to stay motivated.  I ate a S’more the other day and I hated myself for it.  I was having a bad day where a crush had indeed done just that- crushed me.  So I felt sorry for myself and bought the chocolatey treat!!! Not only did I buy it, but I ate it all!!! I am so ashamed.  I sat their across from a frozen yogurt place feeling like an idiot, because no doubt would some yogurt and fruit have been a much better choice than chocolate, marshmallows and graham crackers.  I shutter to think of the calories consumed 300+ I’m sure.  So while sitting eating S’mores and watching others eat Yogurt Creations, I reflected on words from Dr. Oz that I had just read in “O” magazine, “The degree to which you crave sweets is partly inherited.  But you can retrain your palate to appreciate the subtlety of natural sweetness- in foods like peaches, sweet potatoes, and plums. Next time you need a sugar fix, reach for one of nature’s treats instead of candy or cake: the more you do, the stronger the habit will become. Eventually, you’ll no longer feel the need to dump three packets of sugar in your tea.” I thought about that last night while at the grocery store.  I picked up a snack of peaches for dessert last night and avoided chocolate, small victories!!!

So today is September 23 and summer has officially come to a close and Autumn is here knocking on the door.  I feel that it’s time to open up that door with a big “Welcome!”  in preparation for being a better, healthier version of myself.  As much as I hate to say it I am avoiding ANYTHING with the word Pumpkin in it.  It tastes so good, but it is LOADED with calories.  Also, I would like to take heed of Dr. Oz’s words and introducing fruit into my diet as a snack and a dessert.  

Image

 

I also picked up some other words of good advice while reading “O” magazine from Martha Beck –  “To achieve bigger goals, take smaller steps.”  She says the bigger the task, the smaller the steps.  Between steps, she rewards her self with something such as a nap, online shopping, nothing huge.  She speaks of  one of her clients who planned on going to the gym by getting up 2 hours early.  She had this plan for 5 years.  Martha suggested she get up 5 minutes early, put on gym clothes, have coffee- full stop.  Her client started with 5 minutes at the gym that then turned to 15 minutes then to a Zumba class.  To incorporate healthy habits into our lives we have to take small steps, whether it’s the foods we eat or the exercise routines we do.  I plan on taking my first step over to the fruit stand at the farmer’s market for a sweet beginning to healthy habits.  

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
